About Us

Carmarthen Bay Film Festival has gone from strength to strength over the years. From our first festival in 2012, we have gone from 35 submissions to well over 650 from 52 different countries for our 2018 festival. Not only have the submissions increased over the years but the number of filmmakers and festival patrons attending has as well.

We have had filmmakers flying in from the US, Holland, Italy, France and many parts of the UK. The number of festival partners has also grown with Stradey Park Hotel, BAFTA Cymru, RTS Wales, S4C, University of Wales Trinity St. David, Felin Foel Brewery and many more. The festival is now a BAFTA Cymru/Wales qualifying which means that any film screened during the festival and made here in Wales is eligible to apply to be considered for a BAFTA Cymru award.

Our 8th festival will see some significant changes, for the last seven years, the festival has been held at the Stradey Park Hotel here in Llanelli. The hotel has been very supportive, and without their help, the festival would have been unable to get off the ground. So with the full backing of the Stradey Park, we felt it was time to move on and try something new. So for 2019 CBFF will be held at one of Wales’ premier theatres in the centre of Llanelli, which will bring a new and exciting dynamic and feel to the festival.

JRS02001.jpgWe are also very proud to have the name of John Hefin associated with the festival.

With the John Hefin Award for lifetime achievement in film, television or theatre. And we are delighted that Beti George accepted this award during our 2018 awards gala.

Previous recipients were


Euryn Ogwen Williams 2016


Wynford Ellis Owen Festival President
Kelvin Guy Festival Founder and Chief Executive
Judith Guy Festival Director, Events and Finance
Aled Wyn Phillips Festival Director, Awards Coordinator/Producer
Simon Howlett Director of Communications
Robert Lloyd Press Officer
Arfon Haines Davies, Sharon Morgan, Euryn Ogwen Williams, Julian Lewis Jones and Marc Evans